This new law prohibits all Maryland drivers from using a Cell Phone with a Hands Free Device while operating a motor vehicle. In addition, the new law prohibit’s “a holder of a learner’s instructional permit or provisional driver’s license who is 18 years of age or older from driving a motor vehicle while using a handheld telephone”. The fine for the first offense is $$40 and subsequent offenses would be $100. The new law is a secondary offense, meaning that a driver must first be committing a primary offense such as speeding or reckless driving before they could be ticketed for a Cell Phone offense.

Posted in: auto insurance, Hand Held Cell Phone Ban Law, Maryland Insurance

OUR BLOG